





AMITY LAW SCHOOL, NOIDA

under the aegis of

COMPETITION COMMISSION OF INDIA (CCI)

organises

SIX DAYS FACULTY DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMME

TO MARK HONOUR TO





on the theme

"COMPETITION LAW-CARTELIZATION, VERTICAL AGREEMENTS, ABUSE OF DOMINANCE AND M&AS"



6 Sep. 2023 to 11 Sep. 2023 *Hybrid Mode*

> CONTACT +91-9131528376 +91-7489333714 +91-8218186911



AMITY LAW SCHOOL, NOIDA, AUUP

Amity Law School, Noida, AUUP is an institution of high repute that has always channelled its resources wisely into providing high quality legal education and ensures other developmental opportunities are made available to the students. Established on November 3, 2004, the Institute is dedicated to preparing students for legal practice by providing them with clinical legal training so that they can enter the legal profession with the confidence and knowledge they need. Amity Law School's motto, "Second to None" aspires to strive for excellence in all scholastic and co-scholastic areas. ALS, Noida aims to bridge the gap between theoretical and practical application of legal knowledge by encouraging group and co-teaching. Its unique mentoring system helps students connect with teachers and seek help and guidance from them when needed.





COMPETITION COMMISSION OF INDIA (CCI)

Competition is the best means of ensuring that the 'Common Man' or 'Aam Aadmi' has access to the broadest range of goods and services at the most competitive prices. With increased competition, producers will have maximum incentive to innovate and specialize. The Competition Act, 2002, as amended by the Competition (Amendment) Act, 2007, follows the philosophy of modern competition laws. The Act prohibits anticompetitive agreements, abuse of dominant position by enterprises and regulates combinations (acquisition, acquiring of control and M&A), which causes or likely to cause an appreciable adverse effect on competition within India





ABOUT THE FACULTY DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMME (FDP)

In India, the competition law frame work has emerged from being governed by the erstwhile Monopolistic and Restrictive Trade Practice (MRTP) Act, 1969 to the current Competition Act, 2002. The MRTP Act was framed on the basis of socialistic ideas and philosophies which is an essential element of Directive Principles of State Policy. However, the MRTP Act did not envisage effective measures against the public sector companies and was unfairly more restrictive to the private sector. Therefore, The Competition Act, 2002 was introduced to cover the inadequacies of MRTP Act.

OBJECTIVES

- 1. To provide, keeping in view the economic development of the country, the need for the establishment of a commission.
- 2. To prevent practices having adverse effect on Competition.
- 3. To promote and sustain competition in market.
- 4. To protect the interest of consumers and to ensure freedom of trade carried on by other participants in market.
- 5. To provide general observation of competition laws as when they are enacted and the laws are tested in specific areas of economy and management.



OUTCOMES

- 1. To familiarize the participants with the knowledge of Competition law in the light of growing economy and management.
- 2. To bring together leading academicians, researchers and scholars to share experiences and opinion on quality assurance and the emergence of new economy.
- 3. To provide a forum for faculty, staff and research scholars to deliberate on various global challenges and opportunities in institutional development.
- 4. Improve and add upon the existing knowledge on Competition Law.
- 5. To induce pristine analysis and perspectives on the subject matter from the above discourse.

DURATION

Six days - 6th September, 2023 – **11th** September, 2023. Each day there will be **two sessions** one pre-lunch and one post-Lunch



ELIGIBILITY FOR PARTICIPATION

Faculty members (regular/ad-hoc/temporary) in teaching profession (public or private), professionals, graduates or pursuing post graduation and research scholars are eligible to apply for this Faculty Development Programme.

REGISTRATION

LAST DATE OF REGISTRATION: 2ND SEPTEMBER, 2023

The Payment is to be made on the UPI ID provided in the Form. After successful registration & payment, the participants will receive a **confirmation via email**. Please keep checking the spam folder of the email as the bulk email sent may end up in the spam folder.

An official group has been made for communication with the participants on "Whatsapp."

The **link** to join the official group will be provided in the confirmation mail.

IMPORTANT

- Registration is mandatory for participation. The participants are requested to duly fill the google form link provided.
- Certificates will be awarded to the participants.
- No Objection Certificate (NOC) or Leave is NOT REQUIRED to participate in the Programme.
- Failing to meet any of the above conditions will result in the denial of completion certificate.



REGISTRATION FEE

REGISTRATION FEES:

ONLINE PARTICIPANTS	850/-
OFFLINE PARTICIPANTS	1500/-

UPI Id: verma1969alok@okhdfcbank

or

Payment number: +91-8267973171

(Name: Devansh Verma S O Alok Verma)

REGISTRATION LINK:

https://forms.gle/5Ewsh69dLcqjdE7H7

SCAN THIS QR CODE TO REGISTER:



For more information Contact:

Aayushi Singh- +91- 9131528376

Barkha Agrawal- +91- 7489333714

Shelly Tomar- +91-8218186911

THE ORGANIZING TEAM



CHAIRPERSON

Prof. (Dr.) Balvinder Shukla Vice Chancellor, Amity University, AUUP

CO-CHAIRPERSON

Prof. (Dr.) D. K. Bandyopadhyay Chairman, Amity Law School, AUUP

PROGRAMME DIRECTORS

Prof. (Dr.) Aditya Tomer, Addl. Dir./Jt. Head, Amity Law School, AUUP. Prof. (Dr.) Shefali Raizada, Addl. Dir./Jt. Head, Amity Law School, AUUP Prof. (Dr.) Arvind P. Bhanu Addl. Dir./Jt. Head, Amity Law School, AUUP

FACULTY COORDINATORS

Dr. Harshita Singh Asst. Professor, Amity Law School, AUUP. Ms. Garima Wadhwa Asst. Professor, Amity Law School, AUUP.

STUDENT CONVENOR

Aayushi Singh

STUDENT CO-CONVENOR

Barkha Agrawal Shelly Tomar



THE ORGANIZING TEAM

MEMBERS

Aarish Hasan
Emadul Hoda Shams
Nishika Rajput
Snehal Ranjan
Prabhat Kanakamedala
Ishika Hooda
Sneha Nanda